Procol Harum -50th Year Anniversary

Procol Harum is the eponymous debut studio album by the English rock band. Originally released in 1967 it now celebrates its 50th year anniversary.  Though the album was recorded on multi-track, it was issued as mono-only in the U.K.


All songs were originally credited written to Gary Brooker (music) and Keith Reid (lyrics), except “Repent Walpurgis” written by Matthew Fisher, after works by French organist Charles-Marie Widor and German composer Johann Sebastian Bach.

Procol Harum’s lyricist Keith Reid told Songfacts that the music for “Conquistador” was written before the lyrics. He added that this was unusual as “99 out of 100” of the band’s songs, back then, “were written the words first, and then were set to music”. The track “Salad Days (Are Here Again)” is credited as being from the film Separation.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Includes replica of original promo poster
  • 50th year anniversary debut album
  • Re-mastered mono audio

Robin Trower – Bridge of Sighs

Robin Trower’s career has spanned more than four decades. He is one of the finest guitarists in Rock n’ Roll history.

I first picked up on his brilliance by listening to Procol Harum‘s Broken Barricades (1971), his farewell album with that band. I played it often as I loved the textures and the power chords exhibited on those tracks. It was a decidedly different direction from Procol Harum’s previous repertoire.

I next interacted with Trower’s guitar sonics finding and traveling the Bridge of Sighs he built in 1974.

After Procol Harum, Robin Trower shifted into “power trio” mode with what were categorized as “solo” efforts. Terming Bridge of Sighs a solo effort was incorrect because this was a full-fledged three-piece band with James Dewar (bass and vocals) and Reg Isidore (drums).


%d bloggers like this: