Patti Smith Plumbs Her Dreams in ‘Year of the Monkey’ – The New York Times

In her third memoir, the singer-songwriter, poet and author writes about her otherworldly experiences crisscrossing the country in 2016.

Source: Patti Smith Plumbs Her Dreams in ‘Year of the Monkey’ – The New York Times

Watch Choir! Choir! Choir! & Patti Smith sing “PEOPLE HAVE THE POWER” in NYC with Stewart Copeland – That Eric Alper

Use Your Voice!

On April 13, 2019, Patti Smith and Stewart Copeland (on percussion) joined Choir! Choir! Choir! at Onassis Festival 2019: Democracy Is Coming, co-presented by The Public Theatre and Onassis USA. Together, they sang Patti Smith’s anthem “People Have The Power” with a sold-out crowd and Stewart Copeland played percussion, specially a Brazilian samba frying pan!

Source: Watch Choir! Choir! Choir! & Patti Smith sing “PEOPLE HAVE THE POWER” in NYC with Stewart Copeland – That Eric Alper

Year of the Monkey – Patti Smith

Year of the Monkey by Patti Smith
Penguin Random House

From the National Book Award-winning author of Just Kids and M Train, a profound, beautifully realized memoir in which dreams and reality are vividly woven into a tapestry of one trans-formative year. This book is due to be released on September 24th, 2019.

Following a run of New Year’s concerts at San Francisco’s legendary Fillmore, Patti Smith finds herself tramping the coast of Santa Cruz, about to embark on a year of solitary wandering. Unfettered by logic or time, she draws us into her private wonderland with no design, yet heeding signs–including a talking sign that looms above her, prodding and sparring like the Cheshire Cat. In February, a surreal lunar year begins, bringing with it unexpected turns, heightened mischief, and inescapable sorrow. In a stranger’s words, “Anything is possible: after all, it’s the Year of the Monkey.” For Smith–inveterately curious, always exploring, tracking thoughts, writing–the year evolves as one of reckoning with the changes in life’s gyre: with loss, aging, and a dramatic shift in the political landscape of America. 

Smith melds the western landscape with her own dreamscape. Taking us from California to the Arizona desert; to a Kentucky farm as the amanuensis of a friend in crisis; to the hospital room of a valued mentor; and by turns to remembered and imagined places, this haunting memoir blends fact and fiction with poetic mastery. The unexpected happens; grief and disillusionment set in. But as Smith heads toward a new decade in her own life, she offers this balm to the reader: her wisdom, wit, gimlet eye, and above all, a rugged hope for a better world. 

Riveting, elegant, often humorous, illustrated by Smith’s signature Polaroids, Year of the Monkey is a moving and original work, a touchstone for our turbulent times.

Patti Smith at the Minetta Lane

I love when Patti Smith narrates her audio books. There is something about her voice that soothes the passion in my soul. Her latest title is Patti Smith at the Minetta Lane. It is available from Audible. You can download it and listen for free if this is the first time you are getting an Audible trial account.

I just finished reading Will Hermes article about Patti’s performance in the New York Times this morning. He is a superb music journalist and I am glad to see him writing for the Times. 

Her stage patter has always been its own entertainment, part stand-up comedy, part populist sermonizing.

Patti Smith at the Minetta Lane features live audio of performances captured over three evenings in September of 2018 at the Minetta Lane Theatre in Manhattan’s Greenwich Village, woven into a single, one-of-a-kind audio event. Pioneering artist and writer Patti Smith commands the stage to perform original spoken-word stories from her life, interwoven with the music of her beloved catalogue, played live by Smith, her son and daughter–Jackson and Jesse Paris Smith–and longtime collaborator Tony Shanahan. What transpires is a personally revelatory showcase, an intimate portrait of an icon, focusing on family and taking stock of a near to 50-year career devoted to artistic integrity.

©2018 Patti Smith (P)2018 Audible Originals, LLC.

Patti Smith Mural – East Village, NYC

A new Patti Smith mural is now on display in NYC, located directly outside Julie’s Vintage clothing shop in the East Village, at the corner of 2nd Street and 1st Avenue. The mural was designed and painted by graphic designer HUETEK (real name Eric Martinez), and depicts a bold, black-and-white portrait of Patti with the word “PUNK” emblazoned along the side. You can view Eric Martinez working on the mural via his Instagram account.

patti-smith-mural

The New Jerusalem – Patti Smith

The New Jerusalem, the latest book by Patti Smith – poet, punk legend and author of the bestsellers Just Kids and M Train – is now available for order. A stunning long prose poem in the tradition of St. John and William Blake, The New Jerusalem presents a prophetic vision of art and humanity, faith, and freedom; a vision of escape from the rituals of power and the mechanisms of social control.

Illustrated with color photographs and artwork by Patti Smith, this beautiful hardbound volume is a true collector’s item and will be irresistible to bibliophiles. With an introduction by Rob Riemen exploring the connection between art and spirituality in Patti Smith’s poem and in art more broadly, The New Jerusalem can serve as a reminder of the prophetic power of poetry and a guide to all who need it in these times of resistance.

The New Jerusalem was presented at the Nexus Symposium with Patti Smith ‘An Education in Counterculture’,  May 26, 2018, in Amsterdam.