Concert Review: Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet Band, Mohegan Sun, May 4, 2013

Last night we ventured up the interstate to Mohegan Sun Casino to commune with our favorite rock and roller, Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet Band. Bob never disappoints us. This was our fourth Bob Seger concert in 17 years. I have been a Bob Seger fan since 1968 ;). Inside the music of our heart that translates to 45 years of wonderful music. Amazingly he showed no signs of stopping last night but it is imminent that he will retire in a few years.

My favorite moment of the night was when Bob said, “Okay, We go back to Live Bullet“, one of the best live rock albums of all time, bar none. He dug down deep transporting us back to Cobo Hall in Detroit Michigan, 1975. Bob and the Silver Bullet performed the connected songs, “Travelin Man” and “Beautiful Loser”. It was better than the original live recording. I became transfixed by the timeless passion he raised through these two songs.

He showcased two new songs from his forthcoming studio album that he projects will release August-September 2013, “All the Roads” and “California Stars”. Bob performed them seated at center stage with an acoustic guitar. When can I place my pre-order Capitol Records? C’mon. c’mon, c’mon 😉

I especially liked the song, “California Stars”,  with lyrics by Woody Guthrie. I urge the reader of this blog post to have a listen on Spotify to and then read up on the Nora Guthrie project, Mermaid Avenue Bob Seger has been majorly  influenced by Billy Bragg, Wilco and the memory of Woody Guthrie. I find Bob Seger’s country songs are perhaps his most heartfelt musical moments, as he shares his deep love for country music.

Bob Seger commented to the fans holding up “Happy Birthday Bob” birthday signs that his birthday was on Monday May 6th. He thanked them for recognizing the event ahead of time. He then stated, “I’m going to be 68 and I feel good.” Intuitively he followed those remarks with “Rock and Roll Never Forgets”, the last song of the night.

We left the arena feeling great about the legend, the person, Bob Seger. There were couples dancing in the hallway as we walked out with the night moves.

Set List:

  1. Long Twin Silver Line
  2. Tryin’ to Live My Life Without You
    (Written by Eugene Williams and Originally performed by soul singer, Otis Clay )
  3. The Fire Down Below
  4. Mainstreet
  5. Old Time Rock & Roll
  6. Her Strut
  7. Like a Rock
  8. Travelin’ Man/Beautiful Loser
  9. Roll Me Away
  10. Come To Poppa
  11. California Stars
    (Lyrics by Woody Guthrie, Song: Billy Bragg/Wilco)
  12. We’ve Got Tonight
  13. Turn the Page
  14. Sunspot Baby
  15. Katmandu

Encore #1

  1. Against the Wind
  2. Night Moves

Encore #2

  1. Hollywood Nights
  2. Rock and Roll Never Forgets


58 Lambert Drive, Milford, CT

One Reply to “Concert Review: Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet Band, Mohegan Sun, May 4, 2013”

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.