Bob Dylan – Tempest and Fall 2012 Tour

It was announced yesterday that Bob Dylan will be releasing Tempest his 35th studio recording with ten new, original songs, on September 11, 2012..

I love that you will be hearing lots of guitar work from David Hidalgo of Los Lobos on Tempest. David is one of my favorite guitarists.

“He’d say, ‘Wow, what’s that?’” Hidalgo said from a tour stop in Fort Collins. “He liked the sound. So we’d get it in there.”

Hidalgo appreciated Dylan’s embrace of the Mexican sounds. But he has an even bigger appreciation of Dylan’s outlook on music generally. The recording session, he said, was nothing like the earlier ones he had done with Dylan.

“It was a great experience. And different. Each one has been different, all completely different approaches. It’s an amazing thing, how he keeps creativity. I don’t see how he does it.”

Here is the full track listing for Tempest:

“Duquesne Whistle”
“Soon After Midnight”
“Narrow Way”
“Long and Wasted Years”
“Pay in Blood”
“Scarlet Town”
“Early Roman Kings”
“Tin Angel”
“Roll on John”

I was sitting in the Mohegan Sun Casino Arena last night waiting for Kenny Loggins to perform his private concert for us. The Bob Dylan and his Band Tour announcement kept flashing on the electronic marquis and concert screens.

Bob Dylan

Then I saw today that Mark Knopfler will be part of Dylan’s tour this fall. Unfortunately this does not apply to the Mohegan Sun 9/8/2012 concert date.

Related articles

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s